The iPad has Seeped into my Life!

Kaleidoschope Image 1
Boy at dentist office

The ipad has seeped into my life, and life will never be the same. Since borrowing an iPad from the local school library I have used it for several of it’s built-in applications, just to make my life as a busy student easier. For instance, I totally enjoy that I can now find restaurant sites, view the menu, and then either order online or call the restaurant and order my meal and then pick it up on the way home. I can also look up other local businesses via the web. Some of these are realtor listings, dry cleaners, and print shops, grocers, and any other local business who has a site or listing online. One of my favorite sites to visit while using my iPad is the Eugene What’s Happening sites. I can find local galleries and other interesting events, and I can even buy tickets online. This means I can be anywhere and be on the internet planning my entertainment future, while viewing my calendar to see if I have those days and times available. This is fantastic! Just recently I used the iPad while I was with my boyfriend at the dentist. The iPad was a great way to pass the time. I used the application Kaleidoscope and got a great picture of a cute little boy who was being a pest. He was so excited about the iPad that he became my best buddy and followed me around the waiting room asking to use the camera and games.

Quiet Rainy Day Spot

I also have used Kaleidoscope in my car on a rainy day, while doing my homework, waiting for class to start.

I did some research on the iPad to find out if this device would be something I would use in the future, and I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. A blog Written by Jeff Bullas  informed me that over 25 million iPads have been sold in 14 months. Over 14 Billion apps have been downloaded since the App store opened on July 10, 2008, and there are over 65,000 apps for the iPad at the Apple store. The top 3 Free iPad apps are Soundhound, Stick Wars and Flightrack. The top 3 paid iPad apps are Pandora, Google movie app and Movies by Flixster. On an average iPad users download about 60 apps. 37 percent of all apps are free and the average price of non-free apps is about $3.64.

I found this amusing video on You Tube. It is a using velcro with an iPad ad showing some other amazing things to do with the iPad. It was posted by Gizmodo, who says,  “At first, I thought this would be a bad idea. But having watched this video, I kind of want to stick velcro all over my apartment.” [This video was posted by Jesse Rosten at DV Culture ] [Visit his website at http://www.jesserosten.com]

For a student using the iPad, the ease of use and versatility can change your study habits drastically. Not only can you schedule your class time, study time and personal time on an iPad calendar, but you can also take pictures of class notes to study while you are at the laundromat or coffee shop. You can do research for projects or use the iPad as a reader and read books, magazines or newspapers related to your field of study. It might be easier to list all of the things an iPad can’t do.

If  you are interested in purchasing a iPad, then visit your local Apple Store or visit them online. You might be surprised to find out that a basic iPad starts at about $500. Maybe soon, you too will be changed forever with the iPad.

2 thoughts on “The iPad has Seeped into my Life!

  1. I completely agree with you! It has been a very useful tool. It’s going to be difficult to give up the Ipad at the end of the term. I think letting us borrow these for class has been a great promoter for apple, I have heard quite a few people from class already thinking about purchasing one after the term (myself included).

    Like

Leave a comment